Polk County

The Assessor's duties and what they mean to you

What are the Assessor's duties?

The office of the Assessor is responsible for discovering, listing and valuing all taxable property, both real and personal, for ad val orem tax purposes.

When is the value of my property established?

The assessment date is January 2nd of each year and the assessor determines a full or partial value of new construction, or improvements depending upon the state of completion as of that date.

How does the Assessor's office determine the value of my property?

Annual sales studies are used to analyze market conditions to determine how the Assessor's estimated market value compares to actual property sales.  The Minnesota Department of Revenue requires the Assessor's estimated market value to fall within a range of 90% to 105% of actual market value.

Will the Assessor's office notify me of my property value and what I can do if I feel a mistake has been made?

After the assessment is completed notices are mailed to the property owners, this notice will state the following:

  1. Current estimated market value from January 2nd and the prior assessment year.
  2. Limited market value for the current and prior assessment year.
  3. Classification of the property for the current and prior year.
  4. Taxable market value for the current and prior assessment year.
  5. Information for appealing the estimated market value or classification if you feel an error has been made on your property record.

It is very important that the property owner review this notice.  The values stated on the notice will be used to calculate the taxes payable in the following year.  If you have any questions or more information is desired, please feel free to contact the Assessor's office at (218) 281-4186 or attend the Board of Appeal and Equalization listed on your notice.
Back to top

What is homestead and what is needed to apply?

Homestead is a property tax reduction program, intended to keep taxes lower on owner-occupied homes, according to Minnesota Statute 273.124.  In order to receive homestead exemption, you must present proof of ownership, complete a homestead application and provide the social security numbers of all owners.  You must be listed as the owner on county tax records.
Back to top

Who qualifies?

Those who own and occupy their primary place of residence, including manufactured homes qualify for homestead, including:

  1. Owner-occupants.
  2. Certain relatives of the owner.

The definition of "relative of the owner" includes a child, stepchild, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, parent, stepparent, parent-in-law, grandchild, grandparent, brother, brother-in-law, sister, sister-in-law, aunt, uncle, nieces and nephews.

Members of family farm corporations.

Farm partnerships.

Applicants MUST be Minnesota residents.
Back to top

When should you apply?

Within 30 days after you purchase and move into your home.  Complete and mail the application to your assessor within 30 days of establishing homestead, no later than December 31st to be eligible for homestead in the next tax year.
Back to top

Where can I file?



Call Taxpayer Services requesting an application be sent to you.
Back to top

Why does it matter?

Property taxes are significantly lower on owner-occupied property than they are on other residences, commercial property or apartments.
Back to top

Are there any 'special' homestead exemptions?

Yes, for blind or disabled persons or paraplegic veterans.  If all owners do not occupy the property, a partial homestead exemption may be given.
Back to top

What about homestead for property owned by a trust?

Certain trusts can qualify for homestead.  A Certificate of Trust must be completed and approved by Taxpayer Services, or the Trust must be provided for the Assessor's review.  Call Taxpayer Services for more information.
Back to top

How often must I file?

Once, unless the Assessor mails a form to you.  If you receive an application, it is very important that you complete it and return it to the address on the form.
Back to top

Can manufactured homes receive homestead exemption?

Yes.  The owner/occupant must also apply, and meet the requirements. (See homestead section).
Back to top

Do 'Life Estates' qualify for homestead?

Yes, as long as the Life Estate interest is shown on the deed, and the holder of the Life Estate meets all the homestead requirements.
Back to top